Tag Archives: Alternative Pop

The Curious ‘Gentleman’

The Curious are an Indie/Alternative band from London. The five piece consists of members Dominic Smith (Lead Vocals), Sam Roberts (Drums), Lewy Rutherford (Guitar and Vocals), James Cooper (Guitar and Vocals) and Alexander Nuti (Bass). They have released a video for their track ‘Gentleman’ taken off their ‘Electric Sheep’ EP. This infectious snappy ditty bops, hops and shakes with refreshing zing and swagger oozing indie. It’s an intoxicating guitar driven slice of slick, musicianship from the shredding razor-sharp guitar solos and jagged stinging riffs to the sticky elastic rhythm that rebounds and springs with a glutinous vitality. With a melty delicious melody and slick panache drenched vocals, its sure to get those feet tapping and body grooving in no time. Animated, extremely energetic and likable its one to put on repeat, let everything go and dance around the room to. These guys have a tight refined sound that is so cool, slick and fun all while packing some luscious melodies with sophisticated snazzy instrumentation. Keep an eye out for these guys.


Watch the video for ‘Gentleman’ below


Hammy & The Pilgrim ‘Nothing To See Here’ EP

Hammy & The Pilgrim is a four-piece alternative rock band from Limerick. The band honed their skills by appearing informally in the vibrant local music scene, playing acoustic and electric sets. Now playing gigs all over the country the band have begun to draw large crowds as support for nationally recognised acts such as Le Gallaxie & Hermitage Green. As a result of their ‘Put It On Ice’ single launch in July they were selected to play this year’s Electric Picnic. Most recently, Hammy & The Pilgrim have released their second EP ‘Nothing To See Here’ to a sold out launch show at the Kasbah Social Club, Dolan’s, Limerick.

‘Nothing To See Here’ displays how Hammy & The Pilgrim have developed their own blend of melodic bluesy tinged alternative rock. ‘Riding High’ adds a snappy nostalgic start to the EP. Elastic bass lines teamed with bouncy drums creates a flexible peppy foundation while the honey smooth melody coats the track in nostalgia and mellow tones. It’s catchy and subtly anthemic. There are some pretty sweet guitar moments in the EP which really shine and add a vibrant lift to each of the tracks. ‘Bow your Head’ is laced in a dreamy lush melody and punchy percussion with the perfect air guitar worthy shredding solo as the icing on the cake. ‘Put It On Ice’ adds a speckle of reggae infused bounce and a dash of vitality to the EP. Hammy & The Pilgrim have created a collection of smooth dreamy tracks richly layered in hazy golden guitar lines and luscious melodies. It’s mellow and melodic with just enough vivacity and buoyancy to have you bopping and grooving. ‘Nothing To See Here’ is a tight polished EP that shows real promise from Hammy & The Pilgrim.

Stream ‘Nothing To See Here’ below

Fears Chella ‘Lush’

Stoke/Manchester based band Fears Chella have released their new single ‘Lush’. The track follows the success of their last single ‘Girlfriend’, which earned the band playlists slots with Ditto Music, Spotify, Hattie Pearson and Shell Zenner along with BBC Introducing ‘Track of the Week’, support from Huw Stephens on Radio 1 and a plethora of media. With upcoming shows supporting The Big Moon and MISFIRES, whispers of a headline tour around the corner and previous shows headlining a stage at Dot To Dot, slots at Threshold and Sonder Festival as well as slots supporting All Tvvins, Honeyblood, LIFE, King No-One and PINS these guys are really grabbing attention and making their sound heard.

‘Lush’ is a juicy burst of refreshing indie pop. Smooth and breezy these guys glide in on an effortlessly cool wave of sun soaked indie sprinkled pop with a hint of grunge underneath. Dreamy lavish soundscapes swish around sharp guitar stings and a soft bouncy beat. It’s anthemic with a catchy chorus and exhilarating instrumentals. It’s an adrenaline rush of youthful bliss. Sugar coated and sweet yet blustery and raw. Fears Chella keep their sound edgy and polished at the same time to create a hazy dreamy, airy almost chaotic 90’s tinged indie banger. To put it simply it’s well ‘Lush’.

Stream ‘Lush’ below